Bedtime songs and the busyness of life

Bedtime tonight was a night like no other I’ve experienced in my 4 years of parenting yet. And I want more like it!

You see, I’ve been a very busy, very preoccupied momma lately. I haven’t been able to give my children {or my husband} 100% of me for practically the whole summer. My other baby, Mr. Man’s preschool, has taken up a lot of my time. It’s not completely a bad thing because we are getting on track with organization and structure but it has required more of my time this summer than I expected. It’s not easy running an entire preschool from behind the scenes.

{Back story: In May I accepted the position of School Board President for the 2013-2014 school year. It’s not something I want to brag about so only a handful of friends and family really know my deep involvement–until now that is.}

It’s easy to get caught up in the busyness of life and the world around us. I know I have. It’s not something that I desire to do but I also know that God has given me talents and passions for a reason so I strive to do my best with what He gives me. Remember the story in Luke 10: 38-42 where Jesus comes to the house of Mary and Martha? Mary loving sat at Jesus’ feet the entire time listening to Him and enjoying His presence while Martha busily rushed around tending to things to serve Him with. Martha’s actions caused her to feel resentment toward Mary and she approached Jesus to “tattle” on her sister. Do you remember what He said to her? Verses 41-42 read, “Martha, Martha, you are worried and troubled about many things. But one thing is needed, and Mary has chosen that good part, which will not be taken away from her.”

How many times have you found yourself distracted by life lately? I know I am guilty of that. I am SO a Martha. I haven’t fully enjoyed my children, my husband, my summer because I’m always busy cleaning this, typing that, calling here and signing there. I desire to be a good mix between Mary and Martha {because let’s face it: if there were no Martha’s in this world we would live in stress and filth and resentment. A girls gotta get done what needs to get done. But she should also be able to stop and enjoy her surroundings.}

And that’s just what I did tonight.

Little Miss was having a hard time falling asleep in her new big girl bed alone. I could tell my man was frustrated and just wanted some time to enjoy what he wanted to do: watch tv. I offered to see if she wanted to nurse in hopes that she would fall asleep. That didn’t last long before she was up jabbering about something. I thought her little incoherent words were adorable so I asked her to start saying all the words I could think of: taco, happy, fox, cracker, orange, train, Drew, Cade, Papa, Grandma, Jesus….the list goes on! She did great! So many new words this week it’s like a volcanic explosion!

I could tell she was getting sleepy as she started playing with her ears and rubbing her own head. I asked her if she wanted me to sing to her and she said yes. I started with Twinkle, Twinkle because I really like my own special twist version. Then I sang some ballad versions of I’m a Little Teapot and Mommy Loves Me This I Know that one of my former preschool students taught me.

This was about the time when Little Miss wanted her hair to be taken down for the night. As I did it, she put her hands on my forehead which I knew meant she was “praying” for me. She’s been doing this for a few weeks and we usually “pray” about 20 times in a 3 minute time span. All I kept saying was “Thank you, Jesus. Thank you, Jesus”….and this is when the course of my night changed.

All of a sudden I felt this still small voice whisper words into my heart that were buried deep inside from years prior. These words were lyrics to songs I remember singing at church growing up. It started with,
“Jesus, Jesus, Jesus. There’s just something about that name. Jesus, Jesus, Jesus. Like the fragrance after the rain. Jesus, Jesus, Jesus. Let all heaven and earth proclaim. Kings and Kingdoms shall all pass away. But there’s just something about that name.”

She was swaying with her eyes closed and I asked her if this was better. Then more lyrics rose up:
“Better is one day in Your courts. Better is one day in Your house. Better is one day in Your courts than thousands elsewhere.”

Again, another song came forth;
In the secret. In the quiet place. In the stillness You are there. In the secret. In the quiet hour I wait. Only for You. Cause I want to know You more. I want to know You. I want to hear your voice. I want to know You more. I want to touch You. I want to see Your face. I want to know You more.”

And lastly, my heart and words transitioned to:
“Like a vessel sweet with ointment. Pour yourself into my heart. I want to see a vision of who You are. Open up my eyes and set my heart ablaze. Revive my spirit ’til I can take no more. Pour out. Pour out. Your spirit in this place. Pour out. Pour out. Your spirit by your grace. We are ready. We are ready. To receive your blessing right now. Precious Lord we are willing. To lay down all we are. And give you the full control. We have everything to gain. When our lives are in your hands. Holy Spirit. Breathe life into our souls. Pour out. Pour out. Your spirit in this place. Pour out. Pour out. Your spirit by your grace. We are ready. We are ready. To receive your blessing right now.”

Bedtime songs have always been about the nursery rhymes and ABC’s but tonight was different. Tonight was about stopping to enjoy the scenery. Stopping to heed the still small voice inside. Stopping to let God refill my tank.

When’s the last time you heard that still small voice speak to you? Did you listen to it? Or did you bury it deep inside because it was inconvenient to you? Let Him in. Let Him refresh your soul and give you rest. His peace and presence will fall over you. You will feel whole and new. I promise He has good things for you if you just stop to smell the roses of life!

The voice of my beloved! Behold, he comes Leaping upon the mountains, Skipping upon the hills. My beloved is like a gazelle or a young stag. Behold, he stands behind our wall; He is looking through the windows, Gazing through the lattice. My beloved spoke, and said to me: “Rise up, my love, my fair one, And come away. For lo, the winter is past, The rain is over and gone. The flowers appear on the earth; The time of singing has come, And the voice of the turtledove Is heard in our land. The fig tree puts forth her green figs, And the vines with the tender grapes Give a good smell. Rise up, my love, my fair one, And come away! “O my dove, in the clefts of the rock, In the secret places of the cliff, Let me see your face, Let me hear your voice; For your voice is sweet, And your face is lovely.” {Song of Solomon 2:8-14 NKJV}

20130822-002509.jpg

Leave a Reply

