The Sisterhood of the Traveling Dress

My story began six years ago when my handsome Prince Charming asked me to marry him.

We began dating in September of 2005.  Our first date was the night of my brother’s 15th birthday party.  I remember leaving the house for my date and telling my family, “I’m going to marry this kid.”  They all kind of chuckled at me and gave me a hard time.  But, I KNEW!  Fast forward to April of 2006 when he asked me to marry him–then July 1st, 2006 OUR WEDDING DAY!  Yep, in less than 3 months we put together a wedding, low budget and it was AMAZING!  One of the things that we never really accounted for was a wedding dress.  Sure I went to David’s Bridal and other bridal shops to try on dresses but everything just seemed way out of our price range (if we even had one…I can’t really remember).

My sweet friend, Marie who was standing up with us graciously and without hesitation offered her wedding dress to me for FREE!  What an amazing blessing for us.  We had it altered at a bridal shop and I was able to wear it that day walking down the aisle to my husband.  Marie will always hold a special place in my heart for oh so many reasons, but this reason is so special because it helped us begin this beautiful journey of marriage and creating a family.

That’s why when I heard of a young girl who was in need of money to buy a homecoming dress and ticket my heart jumped at the opportunity to be able to bless her.  You see, her mom is trying to teach her good work ethic and responsibility by offering her services for housework, babysitting, lawn mowing, etc.  When she asked me if I needed anything done my heart sank because I knew that it was a rough week for us financially and I just didn’t have any money to offer her.  {I also was thinking about how hard it is to tell a young girl, “No you can’t go to homecoming because we just can’t get you a dress.”  I imagined having to tell my daughter that someday and it hurt my heart.  As a parent, I know that I would do whatever it took to make sure she got to go to her dance.  That’s when I started thinking}.  I considered offering an old dress of mine, but as a friend of mine pointed out, we graduated almost 10 years ago–our dresses would be SO out of style!  {Yes, Brie, when did we get so OLD?}

I told her mom that I had heard of a few places where you could donate your dresses and a young girl could get one for free for such an event.  Then, a light bulb turned on in my head and I realized there is a great community of women via Facebook that I could just throw the idea out to.  I wrote a little status update while I was finishing dinner then went on to feed Emery some food before nursing her and putting her to bed.  No big deal, right?

The response was OVERWHELMING!

Moms of teenagers.

Teenagers.

Women with bridesmaid dresses.

Women who could sew.

A woman who wanted to give money if no dress was found.

My heart was jumping with joy!

I totally respect her mom and her lesson of working for what you want, but also the fact that someone wanted to BLESS this girl with a dress is amazing!!!  I am so excited for her to be blessed with a dress and also for the woman who will be providing the dress.

And Ladies, this is what life is all about.  One thing I will always remember my Pastors saying is that we are all here to “do life together”.  Whether that be inviting people into our homes, grabbing coffee and chatting or going in your closet to give away something you aren’t using.  This. Is. Doing. Life. Together.

I am so excited about this opportunity.

Thank you all for your interest in helping.  She needs the dress in a week so I’m excited to see how God is going to orchestrate this all!

Leave a Reply

