Gifts and Surprises

I knew it had been a few days since we had gotten the mail, so the other night on our way out the driveway I made Zac stop so I could get it.

(getting the mail can be a very boring task most days since all it seems we receive are bills and junk mail.  every once in awhile there is something awesome in there–this is that kind of story)

 

I turned to him and said:

“I don’t think there will be any money in there today, but I’m expecting gifts and surprises when I get the mail these days.”

 

As I started leafing through a few days worth of mail I notice that Reese got an envelope.

A hand-written

from an actual person

kind of envelope.

 

We opened it up and out slipped a gift card to Dairy Queen!  Inside was a little note about how he needs to take his mommy out for an ice cream date.

 

(Do you remember a few weeks ago when I updated my status on Facebook about how Reese wanted to have a date with me at Dairy Queen but I didn’t have the funds to do so at that time?)

Well, this sweet friend of mine read that and must have been touched because she blessed us with a very sweet (literally) treat.  This is also the friend who gave me treasures from her closet after I had Emery.  She is also the friend who freely gave Reese his Leapster that he just loves to play like Daddy plays on the iPad.  This is the friend who knew my dad growing up and when she saw us all in our front yard during the Memorial Day parade came up and hugged us all.

This friend and I may not get to spend time together outside of little meet and greets here, but this friend has a special place in my heart because she’s a momma and she just knows.

She knows how it feels.

She knows how it can hurt somedays.

She just knows.

And for her…I am very grateful.

Thank you, my friend, for blessing a momma’s heart to be able to walk her little man across the driveway to Dairy Queen for a date–just the two of us.  I can’t wait to see what the conversation for that time holds!

One thought on “Gifts and Surprises

Leave a Reply

